Rhode Island Drivers Education
Rhode Island drivers education is an essential first step to life long driving skills. Driving is one of the first major responsibilities in a teens life. Driver education assures a student understands basic traffic laws, rules of the road, basic motor vehicle operation, driver awareness and drug and alcohol effects on driving.
The Rhode Island driver education course is an interactive course that comes with three CD Roms for use on your home computer. Two of the CD Roms are for the teen student and one disk contains special information, including lesson plan print-outs for behind the wheel training, for the parent. The drivers ed course consists of ten sections that make up 32 hours of computer based instruction along with 14 hours of behind the wheel driver training. In addition, the Rhode Island drivers education course covers beneficial information about drug and alcohol abuse.
Use this Rhode Island learners permit practice test to evaluate your current driving knowledge.
Limited Instruction Permit - Age 16
- Complete Rhode Island driver education course (or approved equivalent).
- Apply for Permit with parent or guardian
- Practice driving must be under supervision of driver licensed for minimum 5 years sitting beside you and ready to take control of vehicle in emergency at all times.
- Driver & passengers must wear seatbelts or be in a child restraint as required by law
Limited Provisional License - Age 16 ½
- Have held Limited Instruction Permit minimum 6 months.
- No conviction of vehicle moving violation or seat belt infraction during previous 6 months.
- Pass driving test administered by the DMV.
- Under 18 , must be accompanied by a parent or guardian to apply.
- This license expires on your eighteenth (18) birthday.
- Between 1:00 a.m. & 5:00 a.m. must be under supervision of driver licensed for minimum 5 years sitting beside you and ready to take control of vehicle in emergency at all times,
When driving to or from work
- When driving to or from any activity of a volunteer fire department, volunteer rescue squad or volunteer emergency medical service if you are a member of such organization.
- At all times everyone in the vehicle must be properly fastened by a seat belt or child restraint system
Driver's License - Age 17 ½
- Have held Limited Provisional License for at least 12 months.
- No conviction of vehicle moving violation or seat belt infraction during the past 6 months.
Rhode Island Driver Education
Rhode Island Teen drivers in Peace Dale, East Greenwich, Riverside, Point Judith, Prudence Island, Newport, New Shoreham, Burrillville, Foster, Hopkinton, Harrisville, Central Falls, Green Hill, Mapleville, Ashaway, Glocester, Smithfield, Jamestown, Wickford, Woonsocket, Westerly, Centredale, East Providence, Bristol, and Coventry, Rhode Island.
Rhode Island Learn how to drive in West Warwick, Clayville, Shannock, Warren, South Kingstown, North Scituate, Richmond, Centerdale, Valley Falls, Harmony, Wakefield, Oakland, Jerusalem, Hope Valley, Esmond, Rumford, Watch Hill, Escoheag, Glendale, Providence, Greenville, Slatersville, Cranston, Galilee, and Middletown, Rhode Island.
Rhode Island Drivers license in Forestdale, Kenyon, Matunuck, Wood River Junction, Johnston, Slocum, North Providence, Kingston, Manville, North Smithfield, Saunderstown, Charlestown, Scituate, West Greenwich, Misquamicut, Fiskeville, Darlington, Barrington, Hope, Exeter, Bonnet Shores, Greene, Warwick, Pascoag, and Pawtucket, Rhode Island.
Rhode Island Drivers permit in Cumberland, Chepachet, Rockville, Portsmouth, Albion, Carolina, Lincoln, Bradford, Narragansett, Block Island, West Kingston, Wyoming, Adamsville, East Matunuck, North Kingstown, Tiverton, and Little Compton, Rhode Island.